Vans “Off the Wall” Hong Kong

Alrighty then… I have said it before, but I have to make it official. I am an idiot and dumber than a donkey! I promised my self decades ago after a Sounds gig (where I completely screwed my hearing) that I will never go to a live gig without any hearing protection ever again. And what do I do? I bloody go to a gig with rubbish sound and not bringing my ear plugs with me… Yapps, I am deaf and slowly getting the rings in my ears. Damn it! Kids, trust men, wear your ear protection!

Last night I had the pleasure to join hundreds of others and party to some smooth tunes at the House of Vans partey at the Kwun Tong Ferry Pier. Amazing performances by my new favorite band King Ly Chee 荔枝王 (which I already mentioned in a previous post), Hardpack and the legendary Hong Kong group LMF.

King Ly CheeKing Ly Chee, these guys know how to make a crowd go wild!

King Ly Chee

King Ly Chee - crowd surfingSome crowd surfing fun 🙂

HardpackHardpack in action

LMFMC Yan working the crowd

LMF4 of the 10 original members of LMF

LMF

Everything was super duper, but the stage. I just have to get it of my chest as it is really bugging me. What the hell were they thinking? The stage fence was 6 meters (!!) away from the stage! I am sorry, but this was a live performance with some hard and less hard music, music that needs sweaty crazy music loving people almost on the stage going all mental to the tunes, the musicians live of it. Check out the audience POV image just below and let me know what you think. You can hardly see what’s happening on the stage…

Audience POV

Leave a Reply

